Islamic Months Name in Urdu And English – Islami Mahino ke Naam

Each month holds cultural, historical, or religious significance, with certain months being considered sacred and others marked by important events or observances in Islam.

In the Islamic calendar, there are 12 months. The names of these months are as follows:

Islamic Months Name in Urdu And English With History

Muharram مــُــحــرَّم

Muharram is the first month in the Islamic calendar and holds particular significance for Muslims. It marks the beginning of the Islamic New Year. The word “Muharram” means “forbidden” in Arabic, signifying its historical significance as a sacred month in Islam.

Muslims may commemorate the arrival of the New Year by reflecting on the Hijri calendar and considering resolutions or intentions for the coming year.

The 10th day of Muharram is known as Ashura.

For Sunni Muslims, it’s a recommended day for fasting.

For Shia Muslims, particularly followers of Imam Hussein (the grandson of Prophet Muhammad), Ashura is a solemn day of mourning and remembrance.

Safar صــَــفــَــر

Safar is the second month in the Islamic calendar, following Muharram. The name “Safar” itself doesn’t have any particular meaning in Arabic, but historically, it was considered a month associated with various superstitions and misconceptions in pre-Islamic Arab culture.

Rabi’ Al-Awwal ربــيـــع الأول

Rabi’ al-Awwal is the third month in the Islamic lunar calendar, following Safar.

Rabi’ al-Awwal is believed to be the month in which the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) was born in the city of Mecca in Arabia. The exact date is not universally agreed upon, but the 12th day of Rabi’ al-Awwal is commonly celebrated as Mawlid al-Nabi or Mawlid al-Muhammadiyah.

During this month, many Muslims hold gatherings, seminars, and events to discuss the Prophet’s life, teachings, and character.

Rabi-us Sani ربیع الثانی

“Rabi’ al-Thani” or “Rabi’ al-Akhir” (also known as Rabi’ us-Sani) is the fourth month in the Islamic lunar calendar, following Rabi’ al-Awwal. It is the second month of the Rabi’ (spring) season in the Islamic calendar.

Jamadi-ul-Awwal جمادی الاول

“Jumada al-Awwal,” also known as “Jumada al-Oula,” is the fifth month in the Islamic lunar calendar, following Rabi’ al-Thani. It is part of the “Jumada” season in the Islamic calendar.

Jamadi-us-Sani جمادی الثانی

“Jumada al-Thani,” also known as “Jumada al-Akhirah” or “Jumada al-Sani,” is the sixth month in the Islamic lunar calendar, following Jumada al-Awwal. It is the second month within the Jumada season.

Rajab رَجــَــبْ

Rajab is the seventh month in the Islamic lunar calendar and holds particular significance in Islamic tradition.

Observing good deeds, avoiding sins, and maintaining respect and reverence during this month are encouraged.

The most notable event associated with Rajab is believed to be the miraculous Night Journey (Isra) and Ascension (Mi’raj) of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

Muslims may increase their acts of worship, such as prayers, fasting, charity, and supplication during Rajab.

As Rajab precedes the month of Ramadan, it’s considered an opportune time for spiritual preparation and self-reflection in anticipation of the fasting month that follows.

Sha’ban شــَــعــْـــبـــان

Sha’ban is the eighth month in the Islamic lunar calendar, coming after Rajab and before Ramadan.

Sha’ban is often seen as a month of preparation for Ramadan, the fasting month that follows.

The 15th night of Sha’ban, also known as Laylat al-Bara’ah or Nisf Sha’ban, holds significance in some Islamic traditions.

Ramadan رَمــَــضــَــان

Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic lunar calendar and is considered the holiest month for Muslims worldwide.

The most notable practice during Ramadan is fasting from dawn (Suhoor) until sunset (Iftar). Muslims abstain from eating, drinking, smoking, and engaging in sinful behavior during daylight hours throughout the month.

Muslims engage in additional prayers, such as Taraweeh, performed after the night prayer (Isha) in congregation at mosques.

Ramadan encourages acts of generosity and charity. Muslims are encouraged to give Zakat and Sadaqah to those in need,

It is believed that within the last ten nights of Ramadan, particularly on an odd-numbered night, Laylat al-Qadr, or the Night of Power, occurs. This night holds immense significance.

The end of Ramadan is marked by the celebration of Eid al-Fitr, a joyous festival.

Shawwal شــَـــوَّال

Shawwal is the tenth month in the Islamic lunar calendar, following Ramadan.

The first day of Shawwal is celebrated as Eid al-Fitr, a major Islamic festival that marks the end of Ramadan.

Dhu Al-Qi’dah ذو الــقــعــدة

Dhu al-Qi’dah is the eleventh month in the Islamic lunar calendar, preceding Dhu al-Hijjah and coming after Shawwal.

Dhu al-Qi’dah precedes the month of Dhu al-Hijjah, which is when the Hajj pilgrimage takes place. Pilgrims intending to perform Hajj often finalize their preparations and make necessary arrangements during Dhu al-Qi’dah.

Dhu Al-Hijjah ذو الــحــجــة

Dhu al-Hijjah is the twelfth and final month in the Islamic lunar calendar. Dhu al-Hijjah is known as the month of Hajj. Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam and is obligatory for Muslims who are physically and financially capable of undertaking the journey at least once in their lifetime. The Hajj rituals take place from the 8th to the 12th of Dhu al-Hijjah, culminating in the celebration of Eid al-Adha.

The 10th day of Dhu al-Hijjah is celebrated as Eid al-Adha or the “Festival of Sacrifice.” It commemorates the willingness of Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son Isma’il (Ishmael) as an act of obedience to Allah, who then replaced Isma’il with a ram. ai


What is the name of the month of Hajj?

Dhu Al-Hijjah ذو الــحــجــة

Leave a Comment